Review of the week

So my first week off has been rather busy, but not in the ways I expected. I’ve done some academic writing and reading, but I’ve done a rather lot of personal writing over the past two weeks. In retrospect it makes sense since that’s kinda what my brain does when I have a little bit of time off: it dumps out All The Feels that I’d been holding in so I could concentrate on immediate things. It also doesn’t help that a week ago I completed some legal steps that help close a rather unpleasant chapter of my life. It’s too personal to really get into, but it does mean I’ll probably feel safer than I have in a long time.

I’ll be completely honest here that All The Feels means that I barely remember the past week. I’ve been a bit of a wreck. That’s why I’m planning to put any more personal writing about mental illness and all that on hold for the rest of the month and instead focus on academic writing. That plan might not entirely hold, since plans almost never do, but it is a plan at least.

Reflecting upon all the personal writing I’ve done in the past week, I’m trying to not be an ass to myself for being an emotional wreck. After all, I never allow myself vacation time and having a week of not doing much seems pretty reasonable after finishing my summer teaching job but before I go back to my department.

I think it’s also fair to point out that since March, when I started keeping track on Beeminder, that I’ve written >100k words total (combining blog posts, teaching materials, and paper drafts) and have written over 70 blog posts. This is the most consistently I’ve ever stuck with any project and I probably wouldn’t have been able to do it even just a couple of years ago. Is it weird that I feel a little proud of that?

So in the next few weeks here we’ll do more on domain theory and maybe review some HoTT papers, with probably the occasional rant and/or rave here and there.

Leave a Reply

