Miscellaneous Thoughts on Teaching

Well so beeminder is telling me that I owe them $10 unless I write something today, which means that I really need to get those technical posts out of the way that I’m working on about papers I’m reading and some of the research-y ideas that are stewing around, but at least for today I’m going to postpone those moments of vulnerability just a teensy-bit longer by writing more various teaching projects I’m working on. This is basically several smaller posts tangled together into a long ramble, so bear with me.

First off, we’re reaching the home stretch of this intro to javascript course that I’m helping to teach for Portland Code School over this summer. The students are working on their final projects for the next few weeks while the rest of us help them with project management and getting their ideas to fruition. We’re doing this by having weekly “stand ups” where each of the groups reports to one of us what they’ve been working on, where they’re getting stuck, and what they’re planning to do. This way we can try to make sure that on one hand the workload is equitable and everyone has some major task they can accomplish each week and on the other hand to make sure no one lone-wolfs their way through a project that needs to be about working as a team. The latter is something I particularly want to prevent since I have, at various times, been the lone wolf who does everything and been the person left to the sidelines feeling guilty that someone beat me to the punch of the tasks I said I’d do. I’m honestly pretty excited to see what they’re going to turn out as projects by the end of the month.

Teaching for PCS has been a good experience. My coworkers really care about education, which is sadly better than a lot of my experiences working with lecturers and TAs in academics where teaching is a chore that you should feel is beneath you, and I feel like the kind of instruction we’re giving here is pretty useful. Many universities, including the one I work for, don’t really give instruction on current industry-standard programming languages and libraries in their CS programs. I think that’s okay, since I don’t think that a computer science program should be subject to rapidly changing technologies and should focus more on core principles. On the other hand, I don’t like this predominant attitude that programming should be entirely self-taught and of course you should feel comfortable asking questions on IRC when you don’t know anyone because that never ends poorly and what do you mean you don’t want to stare at the source code of a library to figure out what it does when you’re still a novice. I’m self-taught as a programmer in a number of languages, but it really wasn’t an efficient path through the search space. I think there’s plenty of room for teaching focused classes with a small number of students (I consider a small class one under ~25 students, this class has 18 students total) meant to get total newcomers up to speed on how to think like a programmer and gain basic competence in a set of commonly used technologies. For example, in this class we take people from the basics of programming through understanding intermediate javascript features and how to use jQuery, Node, and a couple of frameworks built on top of those for structuring both client-side and server-side code. All said and done, I feel pretty good about what we cover in 12 weeks and I know we’ve all put in a lot of effort to create a pretty straight-forward path through the material.

One of the things I’ve been trying to do is write supplementary tutorials to help students review what we covered in class. Since my contract with PCS allows me to keep any learning materials I develop as my own (yay!), I’ll shortly be putting copies of these in-progress tutorials in their own git repo https://github.com/clarissalittler/teaching-javascript. I want to talk a little bit about my basic workflow: I’ve been writing everything in emacs in org-mode and been heavily making use of in-line executable code, file tangling, and export to markdown.

I wanted to talk about those aspects a little bit for those of you who aren’t super nerds for org-mode. You can include, in your documents, source code just by typing “<s” and hitting tab and then it expands into the src block as follows

#+BEGIN_SRC language-name :exports what-you-want-to-export :results type-of-output

#+END_SRC

You can then edit the source code by typing C-‘ with the cursor in the block and it sends you into a temporary buffer that is in the proper major-mode for that language. For example, to format the block of code above I included it as a src block of the type org and I could then still use org-mode shortcuts to make the literal example of an org-mode file. So. Meta.

We can also run our source code by typing C-c C-c within a source block. For example, in the following code example, which looks like

#+BEGIN_SRC js :exports both :results output
  var thingy = 10;

  console.log(thingy*thingy);
#+END_SRC

we can see that it prints out the results of the program beneath the source code

var thingy = 10;

console.log(thingy*thingy);
100

and after evaulation the actual block of org-mode source looks like

#+BEGIN_SRC js :exports both :results output
  var thingy = 10;

  console.log(thingy*thingy);
#+END_SRC

#+RESULTS:
: 100

I’ve found this very useful for writing exercises since I can have the solutions right there in my .org file that aren’t exported but I can still test to make sure that they work correctly. I also make a habit of testing all of my examples as much as possible as I’m writing them, which both helps me avoid the embarassment of giving students examples that don’t work and helps me double check that I’m understanding the language correctly.

Now being able to write and run the code is nice, but what’s really great is being able to extract source code chunks to an actual file. You do that with something like the following

#+BEGIN_SRC js :tangle test.js
  console.log("this file doesn't do anything interesting'")
#+END_SRC

and then when you hit C-c C-v t the source blocks are all extracted into files. Also, something I didn’t understand at first that led to an embarassingly confusing bug is that if you have two different source blocks with the same :tangle name then they’ll be concatenated.

I like writing tutorials with all of the code inline and files generated by tangle because

  • I want to encourage literate programming
  • It helps me organize my thoughts
  • It prevents duplication between source in the text and the real source files
  • I think tutorials work better when all the moving parts are in plain view

The last one is about a serious pet peeve I have when code offered in tutorials or papers is “morally correct” but is actually a simplified version of what really works. If you’re experienced, of course, you can spot what’s really needed but if you’re a novice you can tear your hair out wondering what you’re missing.

The final thing about my org-mode workflow lately is that this means that I can very easily export to HTML or markdown (which is what all three of us in this course have implicitly agreed to use) by just typing C-c C-e and picking the right options from there. It’s so convenient.

Maybe this all seems a bit silly to gush over, but I so appreciate being able to easily format my writing well.

The final thing I wanted to mention is that I, similarly, have a github repo for my theory of computation course https://github.com/clarissalittler/cs311 where I’m storing my lecture notes, the assignments, and any other supplemental things that I think are useful. It’s a pretty similar workflow where I have a number of .org mode files that I’m using to generate as much of the material as possible. The main difference is that it’s exporting to pdf via latex at the moment because I figured having a pdf would be a convenient way to read 60 pages of lecture notes. I’m going to actually point my students this fall to the repo for the course because it seems like a really easy way to distribute materials and, potentially, get students to flag typos or clarifications in the lecture notes or homework using the issue tracker on github or even by fixing little things themselves and making a pull request. How great would it be to actually get student help each term in making your lecture notes better?

I think that might be everything I wanted to brain dump today. That was kind of a lot.

Leave a Reply

