Done with one class, off to the next

(WordPress did a weird thing where it ate a previous attempt at making this post after the fact, also upgrading emacs seems to have broken my org2blog install and I haven’t yet figured out how to fix it.)

So, I’m officially done with my first undergraduate course. I’m now teaching for http://www.portlandcodeschool.com/, helping with their intro to programming with JavaScript night class. So far it’s been fun to try and explain intro programming concepts to students who have essentially no background. I’m trying to find ways to appeal to the intuition of high school algebra since, fundamentally, programming is an algebraic exercise (although for some languages the underlying algebra is more complicated than in others).

Since I’m only working for them 20 hours a week, that means I’ll actually have more time to start using this blog for writing about the papers I’m reading and the research ideas I have!

Leave a Reply

